Student Spotlight: Alex Knittel (’19)

BY Margaret Scott (’18) 

Alex Knittel, a sophomore Advertising and Public Relations major, stays busy in the Communication Arts Department. Alex took time to discuss his involvement on campus at Marywood.

What is your year/major?

alex

Alex Knittel

I am a sophomore Advertising and Public Relations major.

What activities/clubs are you involved with on campus?

I am involved with the Public Relations Student Society of America, the American Advertising Federation, The Wood Word, the TV-Marywood package team, the Society of Collegiate Journalists, and I also DJ for 91.7 VMFM.

What has the experience been like as promotions director for The Wood Word so far?

My experience as the Publicity and Promotions Director for The Wood Word so far has been really rewarding.  I work with a team of people who are mostly fellow Ad/PR majors, and we are in charge putting together the fundraisers for The Wood Word and also the advertising sales. There is a lot of responsibility involved in the position, which I take seriously. It has been challenging in the best way possible, and I’ve gained a ton of experience from it.

What activity/club in the department has had the biggest impact on you? 

I would say that PRSSA has had the biggest impact on me.  Seeing my peers in leadership roles within that club have really shown me how important it is to be a student leader, and I’m grateful for the opportunities the club has given me.

You recently attended the PRSSA Conference in Boston. How has the experience of attending the conference help you gain insight into the field?

The insight I gained into the field was the importance of networking and the importance of hard work. I think going to events like the PRAdvanced conference at Boston University are great because you get to see the field applied outside a classroom setting. Everyone who attended the conference will be giving a presentation on it at the next department meeting, so stay tuned for that.


2017-02-02-margaret-scott-dsc_0359-thumbnail

Margaret Scott is a junior Advertising/Public Relations major. In her free time, she enjoys being a DJ for 91.7 VMFM and taking part in  Marywood’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

Leave a Reply

