Student Spotlight: Elizabeth Carlson (’17)

By: Margaret Scott (’18) 

Elizabeth is a fellow blogger for Frame Your Future, who will be graduating this year. She took some time to answer questions about her experience on posting for the Communication Arts Blog this year.

What is your year/major?

I am senior majoring in graphic design and minoring in advertising.

What activities or organizations are you involved with on Marywood’s campus?

I have been a member of the Marywood Women’s Soccer team for four years. I am involved with Zeta Omicron Kappa Pi International Art Honor Society, and a member of the Society for Collegiate Journalists and the CMYKlub for graphic designers and illustrators.

elizabeth spotlight 1

Elizabeth with her art show.

I am also the industry trends blogger for Frame Your Future and Assistant Design Editor for The Wood Word.

What has blogging for Frame Your Future been like?

My experience for Frame Your Future has been a great one. I was so excited to be asked to write for the Communication Arts Department. I had started blogging for the Art Department when I was a sophomore and I really like it! Since I am the industry trends blogger, I get to research, read and learn about a lot of different trends that I never knew about. Plus, it helps me stay informed by reading each week to stay caught up with trends. With Frame Your Future, this semester TV-Marywood asked a few bloggers if they would be willing to do a video segment talking about our most current posts. I was one of the bloggers on the TVM feature, and it was was a great experience. Not only was I able to write about the topics that I chose, but I was also able to talk about them on camera, which was a little out of my comfort zone.  However, it wasn’t bad after the first one! Overall it was a great experience and it was great working with the staff and the other bloggers.

elizabeth spotlight 2

Elizabeth (third from left) on set for Frame Your Future with TV-Marywood.

What skills/lessons have you learned from writing for your section?

One of the skills that I have learned to do through blogging is writing in short, concise paragraphs instead of long ones. It was definitely an adjustment for me, since I am so used to just writing school papers, which the paragraphs need to have more information and be more lengthy. Personally, I really enjoyed the transition.

What advice would you offer to a student who may want to blog while studying at Marywood?

Advice that I would offer to a student that is interested in blogging would be to do it! It is a lot of fun, you will get great experience learning about blogging, time management with deadlines, commitment, and of course the category that you chose to blog about!


2017-02-02-margaret-scott-dsc_0359-thumbnail

Margaret Scott is a junior Advertising/Public Relations major. In her free time, she enjoys being a DJ for 91.7 VMFM and taking part in  Marywood’s Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) chapter.

Leave a Reply

