Alumni Spotlight: Juliette Meyers (’15)

BY: Casey Markiewicz (’20)

For my last alumni spotlight of the semester, I reached out to Juliette Meyers. Juliette recently graduated in 2015 with her bachelor’s degree in Communication Arts with a concentration in Broadcast Journalism. Juliette is an admissions counselor for The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in Philadelphia but, in the future, would like to go back to school for her master’s degree in Art Therapy to combine both her communication skills and her love of the arts.

Juliette Meyers

Casey: What organizations were you involved in within the Communication Arts Department?

Juliette: I was the Arts and Entertainment editor for Marywood’s student newspaper, The Wood Word. I [also] reported the entertainment news for TV Marywood, and I did weekly shifts for the radio station, 91.7 VMFM.

Casey: How do you feel these organizations helped prepare you for a career in the field?

Juliette: Each one helped me with communicating and public speaking in ways I didn’t even realize at the time. When I started working, I noticed how important these skills are and how they can be challenging for many people. I do a lot of public speaking for my job, and I feel lucky to have had so much practice in college because now I feel comfortable doing it regularly.

Casey: What was your favorite project you helped create while at Marywood?

Juliette: I was a student blogger for the Marywood Communication Arts [Frame Your Future] recruitment blog during my senior year. I really love blogging, so I liked participating in weekly posts and finding ways to be creative with new content to capture readers.

Casey: Did you complete any internships while you were studying?

Juliette: Yes, I interned at WBRE Eyewitness News on the community show PA Live! and with the Scranton/Wilkes- Barre Penguins, the minor league hockey team.

Casey: What was that like?

Juliette: All positive! Internships are a great opportunity to get a taste for what the working world is like. Just being in each environment and observing things around me had its benefits. I transferred into Marywood as a junior, so I feel really fortunate that I was able to incorporate two internships into my schedule. My adviser, Dr. Lindsey Wotanis, was a huge help in keeping me on track for graduation, while figuring out ways for my schedule to allow both internships and study abroad trips. My two years at Marywood were jam packed but so well spent. She’s a master at scheduling.

Casey: What were the most valuable lessons you learned from your internships?

Juliette: I interned in two completely different areas in the Communication Arts field, which was beneficial in understanding where I wanted to apply for jobs after graduation. The internship with WBRE was PR-related. I booked guests onto the community show. I loved it! When I was interning with the Penguins, I was involved with video production. I learned important skills in Photoshop and video editing software that helped to boost my resume– but I also learned a career in digital media wasn’t for me.

Casey: I saw that you worked for Lock Haven University. What was your position and some of your responsibilities there?

Juliette: I was an Admissions Counselor at Lock Haven University. My main responsibilities included recruiting and social media management. I traveled to high schools and college fairs throughout central and western Pennsylvania promoting the university. When I wasn’t on the road, I managed the admissions social media accounts and held information sessions for groups of prospective students and their families.

Casey: And your current job?

Juliette: I work at The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in Philadelphia as an Admissions Counselor. It is similar to what I was doing at Lock Haven University only much more art oriented. I do informal portfolio reviews with students at high schools and in the office to advise them on what to submit when they are ready to apply. The current students are always working on new projects and exhibitions, which is a social media coordinator’s dream! I am never desperate for content. As for my recruiting territory, I cover the same spots in PA, in addition to the whole Midwest– so I’ve been doing a lot more out-of-state travel.

I went to Chicago for the first time a few months ago– which was a really exciting trip, and I’ll be going to Lake Michigan in the summer months, another first for me.

Casey: What are some things you like to do in your free time?

Juliette: I am sort of obsessed with Instagram. I like taking and editing pictures on my phone. Having lived in rural PA while working in Lock Haven and now living in Philadelphia, it has been such a change up. I like documenting it all through photos and looking back at how one thing lead to the next.

Casey: Do you have any words of advice for current Communication Arts students?

Juliette: Put yourself out there, make funny videos with your friends, learn to not take yourself too seriously. The world gets a lot more serious once you graduate so enjoy your time being silly and goofy. Don’t rush it; you’ll get there.


casey-markiewicz-thumbnail

Casey Markiewicz is a freshman Public Relations/Advertising major. When she’s not in class or writing for Frame Your Future, she’s getting involved in the PRSSA/AAF organization.

Leave a Reply

