Filming

Last week, for my Video Production class, I filmed a Public Service Announcement (PSA). I never thought I would be doing that in the first semester of freshman year. It was certainly an incredible experience, but at the same time, I was incredibly nervous.

After watching countless PSAs on YouTube, I decided that my topic would be hearing loss due to headphones. (I’m glad I chose that topic. It allowed me to play around with the sound and experiment with audio effects.) The next step was to create a script so I could have some sort of direction during the filming process.

My script centered around a girl who ***surprise*** lost her hearing after listening to loud music for a long period of time. She came to this realization after she received a phone call from her friend, a call which she was barely able to hear. My idea was very ambitious for a 30-second limit, but I think I made it work. Having two equally awesome actors helps, also.

After picking up my equipment, which included a DSLR (Digital Single Lens Reflex camera) and an LED lighting kit, I headed over to one of the dorms to set up for phase one of my PSA. After phase one, I carried the equipment to the Learning Commons for phase two of filming. I must admit that the lighting in the Learning Commons during the day is superb.

I was a bit shaky at first since I had never before filmed with a high-quality camera or lighting kit.

A still from my PSA!

A still from my PSA!

My nerves made me extra careful when framing my shots. I took a few extra seconds before pressing record to make sure there was enough headroom, the lighting was perfect, my subject was in focus, etc. There really is a lot that goes into producing a short video. And I haven’t mentioned the editing process, yet.

The day after my scenes were shot, I paid a visit to the editing rooms. These new rooms, located on the Terrace level of the Learning Commons, are equipped with brand new computers containing video and audio editing systems and very impressive speakers. Since I hadn’t edited a video in about two years, getting back to the grind was a great feeling.

About three hours and many, many audio effects later, I had a completed PSA.

This project allowed me to become more familiar with the equipment and put my creative writing skills to use. I hope to keep creating for the rest of my life.


2015-16 FYF Bloggers - Jess-Post Thumbnail-DSC_0628

Jessica is a freshman Comm. Arts major with a concentration in Digital Media. When she’s not in class, she’s Asst. Opinion Editor for The Wood Word, a DJ for 91.7 VMFM, and a member of the PRSSA/AAF. In her free time, she enjoys writing,  singing, and playing tennis, but not all at once.

Leave a comment